BreedWheat project

BreedWheat aims at strengthening the competitiveness of the French wheat breeding sector as well as to address the societal demand for sustainability, quality, and safety in agricultural production.

This pre-competitive project developed over a period of nine years (2011-2019), for a total investment of 34 million Euros, receives a 9M€ grant from the French Investement for the Future Program managed by the French Research National Agency (ANR). It brings together 27 partners: 15 public research laboratories, 10 private companies, 1 technical institute, 1 competitiveness cluster and 1 company specialised in project management and technology transfer.

Project results

Since 2011, the BreedWheat project has produced more than 2 billion genotypic data and more than 1 million phenotypic data. Indeed, the Affymetrix Axiom array designed in the project and containing more than 420 000 SNP (single nucleotide polymorphism) markers was used to genotype about 7 800 accessions. In parallel, about 70 000 experimental plots were phenotyped for traits of interest principally linked to nitrogen fertilizer use efficiency, drought tolerance and diseases resistance. All generated data, duly integrated in a dedicated information system, enabled the characterization of the wheat genome organization, the identification of chromosomal regions explaining traits of interest, the development of an ecophysiological model of plant functionning, the construction of gene networks, the test of new breeding techniques, the extraction of a diverse worldwide collection, the creation of new genetic populations...

Newsletter

Receive all the information about BreedWheat directly in your e-mail box

Funders

This project receives funding from the French Government managed by the Research National Agency (ANR) in the framework  of the Investments for the Future (ANR-10-BTBR-03), France Agrimer and the French Fund to support Plant Breeding (FSOV).

Le Projet BreedWheat

Le projet Investissement d’avenir BreedWheat a pour ambition de soutenir la compétitivité de la filière française de sélection du blé en répondant aux enjeux de société pour une production durable et de qualité.

Ce projet précompétitif prévu sur 9 ans (2011-2019), pour un investissement total de 34 millions d’euros, reçoit un financement de 9 M€ du programme Investissements d’Avenir géré par l’Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR). Il rassemble 27 partenaires : 15 laboratoires de recherche public, 10 entreprises privées, 1 institut technique, 1 pôle de compétitivité et 1 société spécialisée dans la gestion de projet et le transfert de technologies.

Les résultats du projet

Depuis 2011, le projet BreedWheat a produit plus de deux milliards de données de génotypage et plus de 1 million de données de phénotypage. En effet, la puce Affymetrix Axiom conçue dans le projet et contenant plus de 420 000 marqueurs SNP (single nucleotide polymorphism) a servi pour génotyper environ 7 800 accessions. En parallèle, environ 70 000 parcelles expérimentales ont été phénotypées pour des caractères d’intérêt agronomique liés principalement à l'efficience de l'utilisation des engrais azotés, la tolérance à la sécheresse et la résistance à des maladies. Toutes les données générées, dûment intégrées dans un système d'information dédié, ont permis de caractériser l'organisation du génome du blé, d’identifier des régions chromosomiques expliquant des caractères d'intérêt, développer un modèle écophysiologique de fonctionnement de la plante, construire des réseaux de gènes, tester de nouvelles méthodes de sélection, extraire une collection diversifiée d'accessions mondiales, créer de nouvelles populations génétiques...

Lettre d'information

Recevoir toutes les infos de BreedWheat directement dans votre boite e-mail

Financeurs

Ce travail bénéficie d’une aide de l’Etat gérée par l’Agence Nationale de la Recherche au titre du programme Investissements d’avenir portant la référence ANR-10-BTBR-03, de FranceAgriMer et du FSOV.